My Weight Loss Journey of 2015

April 2015

After a long 6 months of winter, we got out on a nice Sunday evening to view Cherry Blossom in Newark, I was deciding on what to wear. Whatever I am trying to wear, either not fitting me or my belly fat becoming very prominent. I got on the weighing scale, and whooop: 160 lbs. OMG, In 6 months I gained 15 pounds 😦 . Even 145 lbs for 5’2″ is too much. Still, I was like okay. But now, it’s too much. I need to do something about this. Need to reduce my weight and reduce my current belly waist from 40 inches to 34 inches. i know it’s demanding too much.. But I need to get into my pre-pregnancy figure. 160 lbs to 120 lbs. So, the thing with which I was keeping myself away these days…. now I am all into it. Women and weight loss Tamasha.

Now, the next question is: How? Offcourse with diet and exercise. I heard a lot about Rujuta Diwekar so  I read the book: “Don’t Lose your mind, lose your weight”. I loved the book. It’s really good to read a book which gives a good knowledge on topic, rather than some graphic tips shared in social media, Eat this.. Don’t eat this. A very comprehensive book of the richness of our great Indian Diet. You just need to know what, when and how much to eat.

After reading the book, I implemented the first thing at my home: Eating with all your senses. Now, no more watching TV, iPad, mobile while breakfast, dinner and lunch. And, I am loving it. So, with all the Rujuta’s gyan and other readings “Wheat Belly”, our Ayurveda and other information available, this is what I am planning for my diet following these principles:

1. Low-carb, high protein diet, Less Wheat ( I know Rujuta doesn’t believe in these no carb diet). But I believe I eat a lot of carbohydrates which I need to reduce.

2. Eating with all senses and at regular intervals.

3. Avoid processed foods including Bread, Store made cakes, cookies, Breakfast Cereals, Frozen Naans, any other frozen food, no snacking on Haldiram packets of samosa, kachori.

4. No  Less Sugar, No Less home made fried.

5. Lots of fresh and seasonal fruits and vegetables, More Greens.

Morning Intake: 1 cup of luke warm glass water with lemon, honey and cayenne pepper. Banana or any seasonal fruit. 5 soaked almonds

Breakfast: Poha, Idli, Dosa, Upma, Rava Idli, Roti-Omelette

Snack: yoghurt with fruits.

Lunch: Rice, Dal- Veg, Lemon rice, raita, Kadi with pakodi, Dahi-aloo, Dahi-Lauki,

Evening Snack: Dhokla, Baked Sweet Potato, Roasted peanuts, Roasted chura, Sev Murmura, Chhole- Aloo Chat, Mango Lassi,

Dinner: Green Salad with apple cider vinegar as dressing.

August 2015

Even after all the plans were ready, made Whatsapp schedule with my friends for reducing weight. Nothing concrete was happening in terms of weight loss. My weight was still in the range 155-160 lbs. Then in Aug 1st week, I visited doctor and got my tests done. And Whoop my test results:

  • High Cholesterol
  • High Blood Sugar
  • High Thyroid
  • Low Vitamin D
  • Low Vitamin B12

Felt really sad. We decided to tackle the last two by medications and top 3 required weight loss. Decided to go on a 21 day diet of Khichdi ( Brown Rice + Moong + Roasted sesame seeds, ajwain, coriander leaves and ginger). After 3 days, could not continue 🙂 mostly because of husband’s continuous saying “Don’t starve yourself, eat everything.”

Sept-Oct 2015

In the month of September & October, started walking for an hour a day, as Pari started her school. Was walking for on an average, 4 days a week. My goal was to walk for 8500 steps but usually I was walking for around 10000 steps. After a month I observed fat accumulated on my waist started shrinking. And at the end of October, my weight was 150 lbs. Yaay- yaay- yaay ..In the month of November, was not very regular on walking, Diwali special sweets. Pari felt sick and a week of school holidays… still by the end of November, I was 145 lbs. Days became colder in December and could not go out for walking. Started JM 30 day shred, every evening. Within 5 days, I noticed my tops and blouses started getting loose. I can feel the difference. On 28th December 2015, I am 140 lbs. All this, with no special diet restriction, no high protein-less carb diet, just knowing when to stop my food and eating at regular intervals, mostly home made food.

Here is the summary

  • May 2015: 160 lbs
  • Aug 2015: 155 lbs
  • October 2015: 150 lbs
  • December 2015: 140 lbs.

Plan for next year

  • Eat healthy, no sugar, no processed food, drink more water.
  • To reduce to 130 lbs and reduce from size 8 to size 6.
  • Follow a yoga routine for 30 minutes in morning and JM shred, piyo, T25 in evening.
  • Just remember, walk is not an exercise, but very effective in keeping one healthy.
Leave a Reply

